A brief Introduction

Version française

My name is Donald. In March 2012, I was diagnosed with an advanced stage of Diffuse Large B Cell Lymphoma (Stage IV DLBCL, CD20-negative). Lymphoma is a cancer of the lymphocytes, a type of cell that forms part of our immune system. What I have is considered to be a rare and aggressive form of lymphoma. Following this discovery, I have undergone a course of chemotherapy that is just as aggressive. Today, I had my 8th and final round of scheduled chemotherapy. I am happy to report that I my oncologists consider that I am responding well to the chemotherapy. But the battle is not over yet!

To mark this milestone in my journey with cancer, I have set out to write about my experience for the purpose of informing family, friends and relatives of my progress. In doing so, I hope this will provide encouragement and inspiration to others touched by lymphomas and other forms of blood cancer.

In writing this blog, my aim is to share some of the aspects of this journey with cancer, including some reflections, impressions, tips and resources that have helped me deal with and accept this Life changing challenge. I invite you to follow me on this journey. Please post any comments or questions you may have directly on this.

A French language version of this blog is in preparation.

Stay tuned,

Donald D

Version française

About DonD

Since March 2012, I have been struggling with Diffuse Large B Cell Lymphoma (DBCL). Depuis mars 2012, je suis aux prises avec un lymphome (cancer) à grosses cellules diffuses de type B.
This entry was posted in Cancer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

