The Fallen Oak Leaf

Version française

A few years ago on a mild overcast late winter day, I took to the cross-country trails near my home  and came across a bunch of oak leaves that had fallen on the trail. I was struck by the contrast of brown leaves on the granular snow and the pearls of melting water on the  leaves. I have kept this image in my mind ever since. I do not know why, but today it has taken on a new significance for me.

The oak leaf is a symbol that was adopted for Lymphoma Foundation Canada’s logo. It is a symbol for lymphoma awareness.  It represents the strength, endurance, perseverence. The deep-roots of the oak tree, which are traits that lymphoma patients need and draw upon during their diagnosis and treatment process. The oak leaf also survives heavy rains, blistering winds, and the strong sun. It stretches its branches that reach out far and wide.

I would like to encourage the readers of this blog to support Lymphoma Foundation Canada (LFC), which commemorates the annual Worldwide Lymphoma Awareness Day on September 15th every year. The funds go directly to Lymphoma research and education.  http://www.nhlcyberfamily.org/oakleaf.htm

 I also encourage readers to support the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society of Canada (LLC) , which supports research and patients with blood cancers.

http://my.e2rm.com/personalPage.aspx?registrationID=1551934&langPref=en-CA&Referrer=http%3a%2f%2fwww.lightthenight.ca%2fdonate%2f

Donald

Version française

About DonD

Since March 2012, I have been struggling with Diffuse Large B Cell Lymphoma (DBCL). Depuis mars 2012, je suis aux prises avec un lymphome (cancer) à grosses cellules diffuses de type B.
This entry was posted in Living with Cancer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Fallen Oak Leaf

  1. Denyse says:

    Love this blog. You are an inspiration for me to “hang tough”

Leave a Reply

